THEN VS. NOW: Reading While On Vacation

I used to be able to read multiple books while on vacation. Especially when I was young I could remember riding in the backseat during road trips, tearing away at the pages until I finished and moved onto the next one. It was always a contest to see how many I could finish by the time it was over and I would have this immense sense of accomplishment.

Those days are long long gone.

I just got back from my last summer vacation of the year (a 7 night Caribbean cruise on the Royal Caribbean International line) with my boyfriend’s family and I was only able to completely finish one book. Just. One. Book.

And not even the book I meant to finish (I was too afraid to bring my hardcover of The Walled City in case it would get ruined) as sad as that is!

While the one book may seem like a defeat I’ll take it as a win. It is darn hard to read while on vacation with a toddler. Also throw in three other kids ages 1-6! Why not throw in the fact that we had a total of 17 people on this trip and I should have already known that all those books I loaded into my Nook were for naught.

This is what reading while on vacation looks like now. Watching your friend’s son while trying to get some pages in, when the kids are in the pool, or back in your room while your son sleeps. He was a good trooper though and sat there casually munching on his crackers and I greatly appreciated it!

I started (and finished, woot!) Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan so look out for that review soon. Still, though it is different now than before it was relaxing to get any bit of reading in during my vacation.

How is it for you now? Especially if you have kids do you find it difficult to read while vacationing?

– TSR, Tru

(DISCLAIMERAmazon links are a part of their affiliates program so any purchases made through those links will give me a small percentage of income.)

About ThereSheReads

Business-attire-wearer by day, dream-chasing-aspiring-writer by night. Obsessive reader, coffee addicted, proud mama to my sweet Linc-Monster.

Posted on September 9, 2015, in Life, Random, Then Vs Now and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

