REVIEW: Don’t Look Back by Jennifer L. Armentrout

RATING: 3 STARS/5

“I didn’t recognize the name on the street sign.” – Don’t Look Back

Don't Look Back

Samantha is a stranger in her own life. Until the night she disappeared with her best friend, Cassie, everyone said Sam had it all-popularity, wealth, and a dream boyfriend.

Sam has resurfaced, but she has no recollection of who she was or what happened to her that night. As she tries to piece together her life from before, she realizes it’s one she no longer wants any part of. The old Sam took “mean girl” to a whole new level, and it’s clear she and Cassie were more like best enemies. Sam is pretty sure that losing her memories is like winning the lottery. She’s getting a second chance at being a better daughter, sister, and friend, and she’s falling hard for Carson Ortiz, a boy who has always looked out for her-even if the old Sam treated him like trash.

But Cassie is still missing, and the facts about what happened to her that night isn’t just buried deep inside of Sam’s memory-someone else knows, someone who wants to make sure Sam stays quiet. All Sam wants is the truth, and if she can unlock her clouded memories of that fateful night, she can finally move on. But what if not remembering is the only thing keeping Sam alive?

– Taken from Goodreads overview.

I started reading Don’t Look Back by Jennifer L. Armentrout (the first Armentrout novel I’ve read) shortly after finishing up We Were Liars. This was definitely an improvement and I starting getting my reading grove back. I finished it within 6 hours of starting which tells you that for me at least it was an easy and quick read.

After reading the overview what you basically get from it is that something bad happened and Samantha (Sam), the resident B***H, lost her memory which allows her to become a completely different person. Don’t Look Back is Mean Girls meets Clueless meets Beverly Hills 90210 and so on. A mystery of what happened to the pretty uber-rich girls.

Sam didn’t get on my nerves. A lot of the time when characters lose their memory it feels really fake. The way Armentrout wove parts of the old-old-Sam (before Cassie) in with the old-Sam (during Cassie) made new-Sam (after Cassie) feel believable. It also helped that the people around her talked about all 3 periods and how she was.

I enjoyed reading Sam “meet” every one from her life. Her internal dialog with everyone felt real and like how a teenager would feel and think or how I would digest meeting someone I didn’t remember anything about. Sam meeting Del, her group of friends, seeing Carson for the first time, every time was like discovering a new layer to who Sam was.

My favorite characters were Carson and Scott. They were funny, caring, and if I was living in Sam’s world I would definitely want to be friends with them.

Even though it was easy to figure out certain things before they were really revealed I didn’t mind it all that much. This was still a good read.

Would I re-read this: Most likely not.
Would I recommend this to a friend: Yes. It’d be a nice and easy read.

TSR, Tru

(DISCLAIMER: I did not receive this book from anyone —I borrowed it from my library— nor was I paid from anyone to read and review it. The above review is solely my own opinion, good or bad.  Amazon links are a part of their affiliates program so any purchases made through those links will give me a small percentage of income.)

About ThereSheReads

Business-attire-wearer by day, dream-chasing-aspiring-writer by night. Obsessive reader, coffee addicted, proud mama to my sweet Linc-Monster.

Posted on June 11, 2014, in Review, YA and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I love Jennifer L. Armentrout! I hope you find her other books enjoyable 🙂

    • I’m definitely going to try out some of her other books since so many people enjoy her writing. What’s your favorite?

      • I’m currently at the finishing point of one of her series called Lux, which is the only series of hers that I’ve read so far. Fans of the series are all awaiting the day the last book comes out (which isn’t too far away!) 😀

Leave a Reply

