REVIEW: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

RATING: 2.5-3 STARS/5

“Welcome to the beautiful Sinclair family” – We Were Liars

“A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from New York Times bestselling author, National Book Award finalist, and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart.
Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.”

– Taken from Barnes and Noble’s overview.

Last night I finished the book We Were Liars by E. Lockart. You’ve probably heard nothing about what this book is about (unless you read spoilers somewhere) as the marketing for it is built up upon mysteries and going in blind. They don’t want you to know anything and actually recommend you go in with no knowledge of the book and that even once you finish you shouldn’t talk about it in detail.

So, I won’t. I’ll just give my thoughts on my overall reading enjoyment of it.

This book for me was both irritating and mildly intriguing.

Though whoever was behind the marketing (kudos to you) did create a mysterious vibe about the book that made me want to read it (wouldn’t you want to read a book that everyone is saying they can’t tell you what it’s about?) as well as continue to read to see what the big lie really was. It’s just that the choppy sentences really didn’t add to the story IMO and made me want to scream in annoyance. I did wonder if the choppiness was in there because of Cadence’s issues.

I felt like the ending last section was thrown in to give the big twist and wrap things up. Dust-off-your-hands type of deal. It might have been more enjoyable and I might have had more of an emotional reaction if the whole writing style of the novel didn’t bug the crap out if me. I know, how petty but still! Personally, if I’m reading a book and I don’t mesh with the writing style it will throw me off. Especially if it’s throughout the whole thing. With We Were Liars, I just couldn’t get past it. Hey, it might not bug you and that’s ok! It just wasn’t for me.

On the plus side: it is a short and easy read. I finished it in I believe 2 days if I remember correctly. So at least if you don’t like it you probably didn’t spend days upon days reading it.

Not the worse book I’ve ever read but I’ll probably never re-read it.

I’ll leave this review short as I don’t want to spoil for others.

Would I re-read this: Definitely not.
Would I recommend this to a friend: No.

-TSR, Tru

(DISCLAIMER: I did not receive this book from anyone nor was I paid from anyone to read and review it. The above review is solely my own opinion, good or badAmazon links are a part of their affiliates program so any purchases made through those links will give me a small percentage of income.)

About ThereSheReads

Business-attire-wearer by day, dream-chasing-aspiring-writer by night. Obsessive reader, coffee addicted, proud mama to my sweet Linc-Monster.

Posted on June 4, 2014, in Review, YA and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

